I’ve Lost My Will Power

Please enjoy this excerpt from my 100 Pounds weight loss eGuide, “Just Show Up: Why Movement Matters.”  If you like what you see, feel free to download your very own, very cuddly eGuide below.

Not that long ago, I made a promise to myself.  I vowed to do this exercise thing for real this year.  My health depended on it, and I knew that I just had to make the commitment.  So why has it been so hard sometimes to stay on track?  How can I get that enthusiasm back and make my workouts actually work for me again?  If these questions ever haunt you, too, take heart.  I’ve learned that getting unstuck is less about what is happening on the outside and more about what’s going on inside.  This is a hurdle of the mind.  So, let’s mindfully examine one of the common reasons for not moving: “I’ve lost my will power.”

Often, I desire to move and feel good again, but I just don’t want to do it.  I’m just waiting for the day when my will power returns.
While I wait, my first reaction involves guilting myself into moving.  But, I’ve discovered that guilt is a disconnecting force which short-circuits even my best intentions.  Guilt acts like static to my soul; keeping me arguing with myself and fuzzing the connection between my heart and mind.  Guilt breaks that heart/mind connection, so it cannot truly motivate.  Guilt can only oppress.  So let’s throw guilty feelings about not exercising out the window.

Rather than judging myself for what I haven’t done, I’m experimenting with the exact opposite:  love.  I’m returning to love by basking in all the hopes I had when I first made that vow for better health.  I remember what I wanted.  I wanted to lift the burden of carrying so much weight and unleash my spunky self.  I desired to feel energized and shine with the glow of health.  I yearned to feel good in my skin.
So, I’m trying, as much as I can, to be a lover of my soul; someone to be wooed and persuaded by my own heart’s desires.  I surrender to all that I want for myself.  This requires a certain level of vulnerability and willingness to feel what is there to be felt.  It isn’t always pretty.  But solidifying my desires has reconnected me with a new power source; one that stems from desire instead of temporary will power.  Once I tap into what I truly yearn for myself, finding the time and energy to exercise becomes so much easier.

So finding enough will power to get fit is not always about mustering enough mind muscle to get the job done.  When I release guilt and turn inward to feel and fancy what I crave, then I am ready to move again.  This principle is best described in the Tao Te Ching by Lao-tzu,

“Do you have the patience to wait
‘til your mud settles and the water is clear?
Can you remain unmoving
‘til the right action arises by itself?”

When you download a 100 Pounds weight loss eGuide,
here’s what you enjoy…

Every 100 Pounds in 1 Year EGuide Contains:One reader says:

“Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the book on it or something.”
— Ashley

Just Show Up eGuide, 100 Pounds in 1 YearMost exercise plans start out demanding too much effort or too much time.  I need a plan that fits me, a work out that actually works for me, not the other way around.  To my delight, I found the power in starting simple and getting creative as obstacles came up.  Learn why movement matters and how you can design your own yellow-brick road to fitness.  $5

Click for Preview

Buy eGuide from 100 Pounds in 1 Year

4 Ways to Join the 100 Pounds Community: Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, or submit your guest poset

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

